According to Arizona statute §28-1382/1383, regular DUI is defined as being under the influence of any intoxicating liquor, drug or vapor or any combination thereof if you are impaired to the slightest degree. As long as you demonstrate any impairment while driving, or you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher, you can be charged.
The punishment for a first-offense DUI includes 10 days in jail, approximately $1,500 in fines, the installation of an ignition interlock device for six months, a 90-day license suspension, alcohol classes and community services.
Extreme DUI apply when a person has a BAC of .15 or more (but less than .20) within two hours of driving and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed either before or while driving.
The punishment for a first-offense extreme DUI includes 30 days in jail, approximately $2,500 to $5,000 in fines, the installation of an ignition interlock device for one year, the revocation of your license for one year, alcohol classes and community services. For a second offense, the penalties increase significantly.
Consult Our Drunk Driving Charge Defense Attorneys for Free
Have you been charged with extreme DUI in Arizona? Don’t despair. Our skilled DUI defense lawyers are ready and willing to fight aggressively for you in court. Contact Wilson-Goodman Law Group, PLLC, by calling (480) 503-9217 or (480) 686-9400, or by emailing us to schedule a free initial consultation.
If you are under arrest and want to know your rights immediately, call the emergency criminal line/after-hours number (480) 503-9217.